Skip to main content


Network of Alvar Aalto Cities

The Network of Alvar Aalto Cities was launched in Jyväskylä on February 3, 2017. The network’s members are Aalborg, AlajärviEspoo, Eura, HaminaHelsinki, ImatraJyväskylä, Järvenpää, Kotka, Kouvola, LahtiOulu, Paimio, Pori, RaseborgRovaniemi, SeinäjokiTurku, Vantaa, Varkaus and Wolfsburg.

The Alvar Aalto Cities form a network of active partners that are all of equal standing regardless of the size of the locality or the number of Aalto sites there. The freeform network is being further expanded by inviting towns, cities and municipalities where there is Alvar Aalto architecture of sufficient significance to become members. The network’s activities are coordinated by the Alvar Aalto Foundation.

The network’s goal is to increase Aalto awareness both in Finland and abroad. Joining forces on communications and marketing will, for instance, improve the visibility and accessibility of exhibitions, tourist attractions and events. This will primarily provide a service for tourists with a special interest in the built environment, architecture and Alvar Aalto’s production.

Chair of the Network of Alvar Aalto Cities
2017 Jyväskylä
2018 Seinäjoki
2019 Turku
2020 Pori
2021 Kouvola
2022 Wolfsburg, Germany
2023 Kotka
2024 Alajärvi

The aim is for the network to grow gradually into an international body that spans all the Alvar Aalto Cities. In total there are about forty Alvar Aalto Cities around the world.

Latest news

Aalborg and Wolsfburg have joined the Network of Alvar Aalto Cities in early 2019!

Our web service built around Alvar Aalto’s architecture, VISIT.ALVARAALTO.FI, was launched on May 24, 2018 in Finnish and English. Published by the Alvar Aalto Foundation, the web service has been designed and produced in partnership with tourism experts and local business operators from each covered area in Finland. The web service is also available in Russian and Japan.

The annual mayors’ meeting in Seinäjoki on February 1–2, 2018 decided that cities abroad with Alvar Aalto architecture sites that are classed as significant are to be invited to join the network.

Aalborg, Denmark


Photo: Kunsten Museum of Modern Art Aalborg, Denmark. Maija Holma © Alvar Aalto Foundation.



Photo: Villa Väinölä. Topcu Burahan © Alvar Aalto Foundation.



Photo: Auditorium, Aalto University, Otaniemi. Maija Holma © Alvar Aalto Foundation.



Architecture of the Terraced house

Photo: Terraced house, Kauttua. Maija Holma © Alvar Aalto Foundation.



Photo: Private house, Summa, Hamina. Martti Kapanen © Alvar Aalto Foundation.



Examples of Alvar Aalto’s architecture in Helsinki

Photo: Finlandia Hall. Rune Snellman © Alvar Aalto Foundation.



Photo: Church of the Three Crosses (Vuoksenniska Church). Pertti Ingervo © Alvar Aalto Foundation.


Architecture of Villa Kokkonen

Photo: Interior of Villa Kokkonen. Maija Holma © Alvar Aalto Foundation.



VisitKouvola: Alvar Aalto’s architecture

Photo: Tehtaanmäki Primary School, Inkeroinen. Maija Holma © Alvar Aalto Foundation.



Photo: Church of the Cross, Lahti. Maija Holma © Alvar Aalto Foundation.



Visit Oulu

Photo: Toppila, Cellulose factory. © Alvar Aalto Foundation.



Architecture of Villa Mairea

Photo: Villa Mairea, Noormarkku. Maija Holma © Alvar Aalto Foundation.



Visit Raseborg


Photo: Villa Skeppet, Tammisaari. Kari Hakli © Alvar Aalto Foundation.




Photo: Rovaniemi Administrative and Cultural Centre, Town Hall. Maija Holma © Alvar Aalto Foundation.



Photo: Office Building for Turun Sanomat Newspaper. Gustaf Welin © Alvar Aalto Foundation.



Photo: Aerola, housing. Maija Holma © Alvar Aalto Foundation.



Photo: Type House, Könönpelto area. Maija Holma © Alvar Aalto Foundation.



Photo: Wolfsburg Church (Heilig-Geist-Kirche) and parish centre. Heinrich Heidersberger © Alvar Aalto Foundation.