Skip to main content


Five Master Houses of The World is a series of documentary films written and directed by Rax Rinnekangas. It tells the story of outstanding private houses in five different countries on three different continents, all designed by the world’s leading architects in the 20th century – the period of modernism.

During this year, the Alvar Aalto Museum’s changing gallery exhibitions will be showcasing distinguished international architecture along with gems of architecture photography from its own collections. The series of architecture films complements these themes, taking us into the atmospheres of buildings created by virtuoso architects in different periods.

The film series will be screened in the Alvar Aalto Museum’s Bio Alppi cinema on five Thursday evenings in the spring and autumn.

28.3. at 18.00 The Melnikov House, Konstantin Melnikov, Moscow, Russia (duration 58 min)

25.4. at 18.00 Villa Mairea, Alvar Aalto, Finland (duration 50 min)

23.5. at 18.00 Casa Estudio, Luis Barragán, Mexico (duration 60 min)

29.8. at 18.00 Le Cabanon, Le Corbusier, France (duration 60 min)

12.9. at 18.00 The Koshino House, Tadao Ando, Japan (duration 60 min)

Spoked language Finnish, translation in English.
Book your place by purchasing the ticket (6/4 €) in advance from the museum or the web shop:

Co-operation with the Alvar Aalto Museum and the Film Center of Central Finland.

Alvar Aalto Museum, Alvar Aallon katu 7, Jyväskylä
Tel. + 358 40 135 6210

Photo: Villa Mairea, Maija Holma © Alvar Aalto Foundation