Skip to main content


The 5. Alvar Aalto Researchers’ Network Seminar  Whose Modernism? brings world-class speakers to the new Aalto2 Museum Centre in Jyväskylä on 14.–15.6.2023. Over the course of two days, there will be nearly 40 speakers, all around the world. How is authorship defined today? On what grounds is modern architecture submitted to UNESCO’s World Heritage List? Not only the architects of modern architecture, but also all other parties related to the creative process, critical discussion, the use of buildings, financing and preservation are involved in the discussion.

The first keynote speaker on Wednesday 14.6. is the internationally renowned American architectural historian, critic and teacher Joan Ockman, who heads the Yale School of Architecture’s doctoral program. A prolific writer, Joan is currently working on a collaborative project on the history of modern architecture due to be published in 2025. Her speech starts the two-day seminar with the first theme Intent.

On Thursday 15.6. we will start by debating questions of Authorship. Our second keynote speaker, the Brazilian architect Ruth Verde Zein, is a professor of architecture and design from Sao Paolo, a renowned international speaker known also for her extensive scholarly output. Our third keynote speaker is the brilliant, international award-winning Finnish film director Klaus Härö – who also selected the winner of the 2022 Finlandia Prize for Architecture. Cultural landscapes and architecture play an important role in his films. In his presentation Härö leads us into the third theme, Legacy in modern architecture.

At the core of modern architecture
All professionals, researchers and friends of modern architecture, art history and culture are welcome to the Aalto2 Museum Centre in Jyväskylä to solve topical questions about modern architecture. There is more about the seminar programme, including the accompanying programme, on the updated event pages. The Aalto2 Museum Centre is a new meeting place for architecture, design and cultural heritage in Jyväskylä. It consists of two buildings designed by Alvar Aalto – the Alvar Aalto Museum (1971–73, 2023) and the Museum of Central Finland (1956–61, 1991, 2019) – and a new extension, which is being built to connect them (2023, A-Konsultit Oy). City of Jyväskylä is the main partner of the event. Other partners are the Museum of Finnish Architecture, the Finnish Heritage Agency, ICOMOS Finland and Cumulus Association.

What researchers’ network?

The Alvar Aalto Researchers’ Network serves as a discussion channel and a builder of connections between international Alvar Aalto researchers. Through the network, topics of interest to Aalto research are brought to the fore. The Alvar Aalto Academy, which is part of the Alvar Aalto Foundation, is responsible for organising the network’s events.

Join the international Alvar Aalto Researchers’ Network Facebook group.
Subscribe to the Alvar Aalto Foundation’s newsletter.

5. Alvar Aalto Researchers’ Network Seminar Whose Modernism?
Time: 14.–15.6.2023
Venue: Aalto2 Museum Centre, Alvar Aallon katu 7, Jyväskylä

Standard €180
Student €50
Virtual €0 (free admission)
Registration and tickets here.

Further reading:
Alvar Aalto Foundation
Alvar Aalto 125 anniversary year
Aalto2 Museum Centre, Jyväskylä

Further information:

Nina Heikkonen
Programme manager, Alvar Aalto Foundation
+358 44 500 1257

Aila Svenskberg
Communications, Editor, Alvar Aalto Foundation
+358 40 659 1930


This year marks the 125th anniversary of the birth of Alvar Aalto (1898−1976). The architects and pioneers of modern design Alvar, Aino and Elissa Aalto made an exceptionally rich and varied career for themselves in Finland and abroad. During the year, the Alvar Aalto Foundation – along with its partners in collaboration – will be putting the spotlight on the story of Alvar Aalto’s architect’s office (1923−1994) and on the ideas that influenced its work; ideas that are still relevant today.