Skip to main content


The Alvar Aalto Medallist 2015 exhibition, which began its tour at the Museum of Finnish Architecture in Helsinki, presents the work of Spanish architectural practice, Nieto Sobejano. The exhibition will be open to the public at the Alvar Aalto Museum in Jyväskylä, May 22 – August 9, 2015.

The founders of the practice, Fuensanta Nieto and Enrique Sobejano, have carved out important careers for themselves from the 1980s onwards, both at home and abroad. They have received special praise for the depth of their understanding of local culture and the background to their commissions.

The Alvar Aalto Medal, presented every three years, is awarded to an architect or architects’ office with outstanding merit in creative architecture. The medal is awarded for a career, not for one particular building or project. The medal was awarded for the first time in 1967, and the recipient was Alvar Aalto.

The medal committee includes representatives from the Alvar Aalto Foundation, the Finnish Museum of Architecture, the city of Helsinki, the Finnish Society of Architecture, and the Finnish Association of Architects, SAFA.

The Alvar Aalto Medallist 2015
Alvar Aalto Museum
Alvar Aallon katu 7, Jyväskylä
open Tue–Sun 11.00–18.00

Further information:
Curator Mari Murtoniemi, tel. +358 40 355 9162, mari.murtoniemi(a)